Month: June 2018

GarageBand 10.3 update

GarageBand 10.3 update

Yesterday, Apple released a new GarageBand update. GarageBand is an application which comes bundled with every Mac, iPhone and iPad.
If you’re not familiar with GarageBand, it’s a pretty full-featured application that allows you to create music, podcasts, or background music for your videos.
This update introduces some new sounds, loops, and a few other new features. But probably the most interesting thing is that you can now download artists lessons for free that used to cost $4.99 a piece. To be honest, these are the same short lessons which came out years ago, and they are really basic. But it’ll be interesting to see whether Apple starts creating new content if they find that people are using and enjoying these lessons.

GarageBand is a pretty powerful app that can be used to make professional songs if you know how to use it properly. I can see GarageBand being far more attractive in schools if they include more educational music lessons than what is available now. And the fact that you could potentially work on a song on your Mac, iPhone and iPad is pretty appealing. And if you master GarageBand, you can then move up to Logic Pro X which is far more powerful, but also has a much more steep learning curve. But starting off with GarageBand gives you a great stepping-stone to learning Logic.

So, I’m hoping that Apple will devote a little bit of their vast resources towards improving the educational possibilities of GarageBand over the coming years.
The new update can be downloaded directly from the Mac App Store.

Posted by Ian Van Slyke in Apple news, Mac, Software, 0 comments
Using Messages in iCloud

Using Messages in iCloud

Last week, Apple released updates for the Mac, iPhone and iPad which finally introduced the ability to start using  Messages in iCloud.
Messages in iCloud is a new feature that Apple announced last fall, but didn’t become available to the public until now for some reason. If you enable Messages in iCloud on your devices, it will store all your messages to the cloud, and then sync across all the devices almost instantaneously.

Obviously, this has a couple of big advantages. First, once this is turned on, if you delete a message from one device, it will delete from your other devices on which you have Messages in iCloud enabled. So, you’ll no longer need to delete the same message from 3 different devices for example. And secondly, it clears those messages from your iPhone / iPad so that you can reclaim storage space on your various devices. This is very similar to using the iCloud Photo Library option on your devices.

Personally, I think this is a great feature. But, if you’ve not turned this on yet, there’s one thing you should be aware of that could decide whether you want to turn this on or not:

And that is that if you move your messages to iCloud, it will count against your storage quota on iCloud. If you’re on the iCloud free plan, or 50 GB plan, your messages could end up eating up quite a bit of the space you have available. I often work with people to help them figure out why they are running out of space on their phone, and quite often, Messages is the biggest culprit. People who send a lot of photos and videos to friends and family can easily rack up a few gigabytes of Messages being stored on their phones and iPads. I’ve had a few clients with 30 Gigabytes worth of messages on their iPhone. It can happen very quickly if you send a lot of videos back and forth. If you don’t keep a lot of messages on your phone, or delete them often, then you shouldn’t have to worry about this.

Also, please note that this service does need to be turned on before you can take advantage of it. It doesn’t turn on automatically when you do the update.
So, first, you need to update to macOS 10.13.5 and iOS 11.4. Then you turn on Messages in iCloud in your settings.

Here’s a good article and video from Appleinsider that shows you exactly how to do that.

Alright, well hopefully, that sheds a little light on how this new feature works, and you can now decide whether or not it’s something you want to use yourself.

Posted by Ian Van Slyke in Apple news, iCloud, iPhone, Mac, Tips & Tricks, 0 comments